Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 11:41:35 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Developing a point & click adventure in Flash
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Developing a point & click adventure in Flash  (Read 1412 times)
patrickjcollins
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: February 11, 2009, 07:05:19 AM »

Alright you lot,

I'm new here, I just posted on the The Obligatory Introduce Yourself Thread here : http://forums.tigsource.com/index.php?topic=45.msg151324#msg151324.

After slaving in the software engineering trenches for the past 8 years, I have decided that I want to develop a point-and-click adventure game, and I'm thinking about doing it in Adobe Flash.  Now, as it happens I have no absolutely no experience in Flash, but I have chosen this particular technology nonetheless because it will enable the game to be platform-independant and playable online (read: from work) which seems appropriate for the type of game that I would like to create.

So, am I barking up the wrong tree here?  Am I going to tear my hair out in clumps with frustration at the limitations in its silly object model?  Or will it be as slick as a 50's hairstyle?  Advice, I seriously need advice.  I'll be developing the game on my iBook (OS X 10.4), so what software should I be using?  To be frank, Adobe Flash CS4 is awfully expensive for an independant game developer and it is as slow as a fat cow on my aging computer, so perhaps something a bit leaner, lighter, would do the trick?  Assuming I continue in Flash, where could I find some useful tutorials to help me get started?  I've yet to find something online which is a pure introduction focused on making a game in Flash.