Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411507 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 10:57:32 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsMatris [ dynamic 2D puzzle ]
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Matris [ dynamic 2D puzzle ]  (Read 2040 times)
Leaghorn
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: April 12, 2016, 09:23:04 AM »

Hi guys

I'd like to share with you progress on my game I've been working on for about 4 months - Matris.
I work solo on everything besides music which I just cannot handle.
I started somewhere in November. Not counting holidays and some other small breaks I'd say I've been working on it 4 months (7 days a week, ~12-13h a day).

The main idea was to make a game where you have to arrange puzzle pieces in chains - Combos in such way so every next piece has to touch the last one by the edge.

When Combo is started, timer starts to count down, faster with every next piece, so the longer the Combo the harder it is to keep it up.

I had two ideas for controls.

The first method was to make a piece shaped indicator that would follow the cursor, and just hover a piece over the board and click to place the piece there. Something like in game Chime. But there was too much clicking and it would be to hard to implement keyboard and gamepad controls. Overcomplicated, so I ditched it.

The second method, which is the current method, works like this:

• to place a piece you need to mark 2 blocks that would be a part of that piece.
  • if there were more than one possibilities to place the current piece using two marked blocks, you could switch through them.
  • after every piece placed on a board the game highlights the area around the last piece from where it is possible to start placing the next piece

With the controls ready the prototype started to take shape