Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 09:14:37 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignA Newbie's Questions On 3D Tilemap World Constuction
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: A Newbie's Questions On 3D Tilemap World Constuction  (Read 1901 times)
Shipright
Level 0

View Profile
« on: July 17, 2016, 02:45:17 PM »

Hey guys.

First up I am a beginner. I have participated in the art section of the forum for over a year but but have only been trying to implement any of it for a couple of months. To this end I have been devouring Unity video tutorials every evening. I feel like I am learning a lot but this topic is something I have not yet found my feet in.

So, what am I trying to build? I want to make an action RPG. I want it to be in a 3D world with 2D sprites for units and objects in the vein of Legend of Dungeon (or The Deer God graphically, though not game play wise). Its not a dungeon crawler but rather a wilderness setting so I want the player and units to have free movement on the world plane not restricted to tile grid hopping. The tiling is for terrain graphics and for dividing the world for mechanics like building and resouce placement (building is 2x2, has to be snapped to whole tiles. Each tile has attributes so if you "dig" on it you get one dirt, and so forth). Pixel art is the art medium and this project is broadly to serve as a showcase for my work, some of which is in the art section of this forum. Third person perspective, isometricish in camera angles.

So to this end I need a world to put all this art into. So far I have relied heavily on this tutorial series to get my feet wet: