Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411510 Posts in 69375 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 12:02:58 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessBuzz, Hype, and the long tail of Indie Sales
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Buzz, Hype, and the long tail of Indie Sales  (Read 2001 times)
SaintXi
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: May 20, 2009, 02:23:02 PM »

I am a couple of weeks from launch of a sizeable DirectX game, and I have a sinking feeling that I have not done enough marketing - with the added glumness that after the launch it could be too late.

I could do with a reality check... what are the raw stats I should use to judge my marketing? # Previews/Reviews, # Interviews, # Web visitors?

This is my first project as a studio, what constitutes 'Buzz' around a launch - and do you have to pay for it in advertising?

On the flip side - I am confident that my game is fun, and will have a long shelf life, and I've read that 'launch' is not such a big deal for indies and it is the long tail which will prove the game's worth.

On a similar note - what conversion rates are people seeing from demo plays to sales - I have read a generic figure of 1-5%, but is that for visit=>sale or demo=>sale for a game? Because at those rates I can judge what number of eyeballs I would have to turn to reach my targets.

Eclipse
Level 10

0xDEADC0DE

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2009, 02:34:29 PM »

i was just trying the demo right now! Smiley
I've heared about your game but i felt it was launched a bit undertoned too, it looks really cool, expecially for an indie title, and it surely deserve more exposure, i hope Derek or someone will frontpage it...

As conversion rate, usually is intentended demo > full game conversions not much visitors > sales.