Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411581 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58445 Members - Latest Member: Mansreign

May 05, 2024, 07:13:39 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Make an animated sprite from external PNGs ?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Make an animated sprite from external PNGs ?  (Read 1856 times)
ak
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« on: September 22, 2009, 09:07:12 AM »

I'm a noob to Game Maker and i'd like to make sprites with 24bit alpha channels. I searched on (my friend) Google and the forum and didn't find an answer (sorry if this question has been asked here before and i missed it).

I'd like to know if it's possible to make an animated sprite from a serie of transparent png.

Thanks and sorry if it's a lame question Smiley

Entity
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2009, 06:17:18 PM »

Game Maker 7 doesn't support alpha PNG files. You should be able to use them in Game Maker 8 when it's released, though.
G.I.L.
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2009, 06:41:55 PM »

Although you can still give an image alpha transparency using the function sprite_set_alpha_from_sprite() or something like that. It gives the sprite an alpha mask. Its some extra work but you may find it helpful.
moi
Level 10

DILF SANTA

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2009, 07:58:40 PM »

Cough*construct*cough*cough

subsystems   subsystems   subsystems
Pishtaco
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2009, 08:36:38 PM »

It's been a while since I used it, but I'm pretty sure that GM can handle transparent PNGs; but you can't do it through the editor, you need to load them at runtime.

For using them to make sprites, see sprite_create_from_surface on this page http://wiki.yoyogames.com/index.php/GML_Functions:_Changing_Sprites

ak
Level 1

View Profile WWW