Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411643 Posts in 69394 Topics- by 58450 Members - Latest Member: pp_mech

May 14, 2024, 09:04:22 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessDonationware sales model
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Donationware sales model  (Read 2757 times)
darklight
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: April 19, 2012, 07:37:41 PM »

Hey all.  Pretty soon I'm going to have a finished product to sell, and my mind is turning to how to accomplish that.  Apologies if this thread is very similar to others, but I think everyone's situation is slightly different, and besides, I've got in trouble for necro-positing before Smiley

Anyway - a little background on my game:

- I'm a hobby indie game developer, working towards my one and only 'ideal game'
- Its XNA, so PC & Xbox only.  Xbox distribution channel is sorted obviously. 
- It (I think) is a very niche game, not easily accessible.  I dont expect it to be wildly popular.
- I'm planning on releasing many updates, with new content
- Ideally I'd like to release it for free. 
- Conflictingly, I've worked on this for 2+ years, and wouldnt mind seeing some $$$ for my time!
- I dont want to get bogged down in support - yes I'd fix obvious errors in the game, but I wouldnt know where to start if someone emailed me with 'this game doesnt work on my super duper notepad with XYZ quad core GFX card'
- Its just me behind this, not even a company to take any liability.
- Some of my content in a future release will have nazi symbols in it (hard to avoid in a WW2 Europe theme), which is illegal to sell in Germany