Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411488 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58433 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 29, 2024, 03:16:50 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Pixie - A nice 2D Game Engine
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Pixie - A nice 2D Game Engine  (Read 2235 times)
ColossusEntertainment
Level 1

Royal Leamington Spa, UK

View Profile
« on: January 25, 2010, 02:15:10 AM »

Here's something I've been working on for the last three years:
It is a simple and  easy-to-use 2D game engine in C++. It is specifically written to be easy to modify and port to any platform, and I've tried to have as few external dependencies as possible - so it doesn't even require directx, as it can fall back on windows gdi functions if necessary. All rendering is done in software, which is maybe not ideal for all types of projects, but it gives a wider range of hardware which it can run on, and it can be convenient to always have direct access to all pixel data, and not have to deal with differences between GPU's/drivers. Pixie is not for everyone, but it IS for those who just want to get sprites on the screen and have it just run everywhere.

Throughout the development, I've been making little games to drive the development. I think that is a key part of developing any engine, as it is only by using it for making games that it can become good for making games.

Pixie is public domain. Can't really have a more generous license than that, right? :D So, if you can use it, or any part of it, just go ahead (though there's a few bits, mostly support for different file formats, which I didn't write and which is not public domain, but they are clearly marked, and still have pretty good licenses).