Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411489 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58433 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 29, 2024, 05:26:16 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)CreativeDoing GameDev at work and GameDev at home, how do you manage both?
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Doing GameDev at work and GameDev at home, how do you manage both?  (Read 5268 times)
migrafael
Level 3

Making games, two at a time

View Profile WWW
« on: September 02, 2010, 11:36:06 PM »

Hi,

I hope this post gathers those who are troubled by the same dilemma, how to give it you best at home on you own games when at work you are also working on games.

I work as a designer making causal adventures at work. I also do some iphone games on the side. Unfortunately its getting increasingly difficult to give out 100% on my projects when at work I'm doing 120% (hurray for #("=)!/(" crunch time!). I haven't given up nor will I do  in the near future , but I'm wondering, what keeps YOU going, what makes you get home and code/draw/design/write some more.

Masochism? Desire to produce Win? Make something you are proud to show others? Making the game you want to make i assume is one of the reasons Smiley

Since I like to make opening posts short, who else suffers the martyrdom of the game dev at work and at home?  Smiley And why do you endure it?

Miguel

On STEAM »
moi
Level 10

DILF SANTA

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2010, 11:29:48 AM »

1-give priority to your real work because chances are your home projects are just a fluke. Unless you are really serious in which case you could consider going full time indie