Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411528 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58433 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 29, 2024, 12:11:45 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)TutorialsNew here, looking for direction (transitioning from web development)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: New here, looking for direction (transitioning from web development)  (Read 1334 times)
grayfox88
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: October 07, 2011, 09:22:17 AM »

Hello everyone, I'd like to introduce myself. I've been cruisin' the forums for a few weeks while I wrap up my latest web project. I've been working as a web applications developer for nearly 2 years now, with 2 years of school preceding that, and I think I've become pretty sharp with c#. Primarily my focus is on asp.net MVC 3/4 and c# 4.0 but I've had my eyes on making games with XNA for a while now.

I've bought a few books, which are now outdated, and started several projects which fizzle out for one main reason: I don't know what to do next. I can draw stuff on the screen, make bullets shoot, and other basic things like collision...but when do I make my menus, when do I start on making separate levels, load screens, enemies, artificial intelligence?

So I have some questions for all of you indie game developers who have made it to completion...where did you start? What steps did you take or follow to get your game where it is today? I'm not looking for tutorials on how to use gamemaker or write a game from scratch, I'm looking for examples of what order you attempted these challenges, how did you manage to keep the development process from getting overwhelming, etc.