Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411529 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58433 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 29, 2024, 02:58:43 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessFreeloadable Content - an alternative to Paid DLC
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Freeloadable Content - an alternative to Paid DLC  (Read 1018 times)
larsiusprime
Level 2

View Profile WWW
« on: July 17, 2012, 08:51:29 AM »

As a developer, I've been thinking about supporting my game Defender's Quest after release with some paid expansion packs on top of the normal free updates. After a lot of thinking, however, I'm pretty unsatisfied with the economics of paid DLC, from both a player and a developer's perspective.

So, I wrote an article about it detailing my analysis of how the system is broken, and proposing an alternative I call "Freeloadable content" or FreeLC.

Summary:

Rather than release expansions as separate, discrete, purchases hoping to make back the cost of DLC development with a small profit, what if we instead asked the game's community to crowdfund the DLC, and then release it for free to everyone who already owns the base game?

This way you still make your "DLC money," but you don't fragment the experience, add barriers and purchasing friction, etc (With Paid DLC, The combined forces of time and friction mean you generally sell fewer copies of each subsequent DLC expansion). With FreeLC, perhaps we can avoid this problem and actually increase the value of the original game, driving more original sales.