Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411803 Posts in 69416 Topics- by 58462 Members - Latest Member: Moko1910

May 28, 2024, 12:54:58 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsFirst game.. pixel
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: First game.. pixel  (Read 1228 times)
beestings
Level 1

View Profile
« on: August 05, 2015, 12:39:58 PM »

So I'm currently a college student (about to start my freshman year), and--long story short--I really want to actually develop and finish my first game--officially! I've been working on this particular game idea for a few weeks and this is my progress and what I currently have done:

sorry if you've already encountered some of these; I was posting in the Art forum, but decided to start up a devLog instead.

Main Idea
So the main character is this little guy in the overalls (I'm not sure why, just go with it). I guess you could say its sort of like a cutesy version of Stick RPG if any of you are familiar with that. The player runs around town and interacts with characters while also gaining money, reputation, and satisfying basic needs like sleepiness, hunger, loneliness, etc. Its supposed to be a fun game, you can interact with lots of different parts of the world (i.e. watch tv, go grocery shopping, get a part time job, etc)

About Me
I'm pretty new to pixel art and even newer to programming: I've always found it tremendously hard to learn. I'm using Unity2D because I want to learn to program (I know I could use something like stencyl but I really want to just learn), and I'm also on a mac, and planning to make a legitimate game.

And Also...
  • I'm pretty curious on color theory and art and how to create really fluid and interesting atmospheres via lighting and colors. Any resources to aid in this would be great