Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411722 Posts in 69402 Topics- by 58450 Members - Latest Member: FezzikTheGiant

May 22, 2024, 02:55:56 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsPaint'n'Jump - a 3D puzzle
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Paint'n'Jump - a 3D puzzle  (Read 2265 times)
Humble Constructor
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: April 01, 2016, 01:04:49 PM »

I have been developing my first game for two months. It is a simple 3D puzzle, in which the ball player jumps on cube blocks. When the player jumps on a block, the block is repainted to the player color. The player can also change self color by jumping into the jar of paint. The goal of the game is to paint all the blocks to specified colors. The task is complicated by the rule that the player can't jump on blocks of the same color as himself, but he can walk on all sides of blocks. So, you have to think hard to find the right path through a level.

Besides of basic blocks and jars of paint, a level may contain another game elements: destructible blocks, doors, portals, etc. Exact list of them has yet to be determined. I hope, that in addition to classical elements like buttons and lifts, I will be able to make some more uncommon ones that uses color mechanics. For example, it may be a palette block, color of which is mixed with the player's color when the player steps on it.

Levels

There are three types of levels in the game: common, bonus, and milestone. Bonus levels are more difficult than common, but they may be skipped. Milestone levels introduces new game elements like destructible blocks or portals. There are several levels available to the player at any given moment of time. Exact number depends on how far the player progressed in the game.