Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411524 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58431 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 28, 2024, 02:37:43 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)TutorialshaXe thread
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: haXe thread  (Read 7313 times)
Triplefox
Level 9

View Profile WWW
« on: July 27, 2009, 04:19:47 PM »

This is a thread for those of you interested in using haXe for game development. I've been using it since mid-2007. Briefly, what haXe has to offer, the downsides and missing features, and resources to learn. I'll focus mainly on Flash since I know that a lot of people here are going to be comparing haXe against Flex for Flash development.

Brief history
HaXe is a product of Motion-Twin, a French company which is responsible for insipidly popular browser games MyMiniCity and MyBrute. It emerged from the efforts of language designer Nicolas Cannasse to develop a language that could be reused over the entirity of a webapp, and since then it has progressively expanded from its original goals. JS, Neko, and Flash were the original targets of haXe, as these three targets can form a complete web stack - Neko can serve pages and run batch scripts, while JS and Flash provide the end-user experience.

Today, Neko's role has expanded to include most desktop code, and two new targets are officially supported, C++ and PHP. The C++ target produces GCC-compatible source using Neko-equivalent bindings; performance improvements are quite good. The PHP target feels similar to Neko's server code, which makes it very un-PHP-like. There have been proposals and work towards more and more targets lately, and it is likely that we will see haXe on Java and .Net in the next year or so.

Feature List