Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411999 Posts in 69443 Topics- by 58481 Members - Latest Member: Umiii7

June 18, 2024, 05:34:06 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsLurk's Devlog (formerly:Samurai Railroad Mansion DX(flash))
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5
Print
Author Topic: Lurk's Devlog (formerly:Samurai Railroad Mansion DX(flash))  (Read 23412 times)
Lurk
Super Artistic
Level 5

View Profile WWW
« on: October 12, 2009, 05:59:31 PM »

I started learning actionscript a few weeks ago. I wanted to work on a project where I would feel comfortable with the game loop. So I decided to go at it with something I've been toying around with for a while now. A revisit of my VGNG compo entry, Samurai Railroad Mansion.

I first tried doing an update using game maker, with a different presentation. I wanted to have a scrolling corridor, with characters poping and scrolling towards you. I wanted the graphic file to be way smaller than it was in the original, while having a smoother animation. But it was too busy and hard to read, and it ended up transferring file size to the backgrounds. So I gave it up, and recycled the engine to support an Eye of the Beholder kind of game. But I digress.

The goals I have set for this try at it are the same:
-Arcade experience
-smooth animation (an interactive anime)
-multiple depths gameplay

well, almost
-has to run on portable machines(psp, cellphones) so it can compete with the likes of Bobby Bearing Smiley

So, the challenge will be to have the game run on a more or less limited console, graphically. With more animation frames than the original game. Ohoh.