Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411581 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58445 Members - Latest Member: Mansreign

May 05, 2024, 08:47:13 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Python calling more Python scripts
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Python calling more Python scripts  (Read 952 times)
droqen
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« on: July 08, 2009, 09:47:48 AM »

Cave Story Awesome.

Uh, right. I had a question.
I'm writing a program in Python and am trying to make some kind of thing that allows for scripted objects. However, as I have little to no knowledge of how to write an interpreter beyond the most basic, I decided it would be easiest if I went ahead and made my scripted objects written in Python, as .py files.

However I'm having difficulty finding a way to pop one open and run it. Note I'd much prefer to do this on-the-fly, only for objects I need, so I'm not much for importing.

It would also help if you could tell me how to open files in subfolders; I can only kind of get it working and not in a very pretty way ._.

Thank you for reading, I'd appreciate even a modicum of help although I'm still going to be slowly working this out on my own Smiley
« Last Edit: July 08, 2009, 10:41:06 AM by Droqen » Logged

BorisTheBrave
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2009, 11:06:59 AM »

Check the eval function, for running a string as python line, and import statement for running a module and making it's symbols available. IIRC, using __import__ function instead of import statement let's you specify the exact location, or you can just add the subdirectory to sys.path.

The open function works fine on subdirectories, so I cannot see what that's about.
droqen
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2009, 11:28:36 AM »