Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411670 Posts in 69397 Topics- by 58452 Members - Latest Member: homina

May 16, 2024, 02:55:17 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)What do pixel artists need in the pixel editor?
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: What do pixel artists need in the pixel editor?  (Read 6239 times)
Xecutor
Level 1

View Profile
« on: January 21, 2011, 07:36:27 AM »

Hello there.

There is non-zero probability that I'll write pixel art oriented editor.
Cross-platform app (win, osx, linux) with custom gui.
But. I'm not an artist. At all. I'm more of an anti-artist Smiley
So, I want to know what are needs of real artists.
I do not promise that I'll (try to) implement these features, but I'll consider them.

Here is my plan (in addition to obvious/base things):
  • Project will consists of images and animations. With possibility to export it as sprite sheet and/or bunch of separate files. Animated gifs are under question.
  • 8bit and truecolor modes. Color key and alfa channel transparency.
  • I'm going to add built-in versioning system. I.e. possibility to tag current version, jump between versions, make branches, and compare versions from different branches.
  • Layers.
  • Named selections, advanced selections manipulations.
  • Multiple clipboards. Everything that was copied will be saved with project, and could be pasted later.
  • Animations preview with background made of other sprites/tiles. Probably basic tile map editor. Probably basic modular animation editor.
  • Hotkeys for everything. Keyboard mode.

It's not going to happen in the nearest future. I'm working on this in my spare time, and I have not too much of it lately.
It's not going to be netbook/nettop/oldscrap friendly application. Sorry.