Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411539 Posts in 69383 Topics- by 58439 Members - Latest Member: isabel.adojo

May 02, 2024, 02:25:29 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Wings3d vertex coloring
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Wings3d vertex coloring  (Read 1980 times)
PlayMeTape
« on: February 20, 2010, 07:23:41 AM »

Does anyone know if it is possible to get your vertex coloring from wings3d into Unity when you export your model?

I've been struggling with this for a while with no success. Sad
PlayMeTape
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2010, 08:09:38 PM »

Tihi, silly me. Thought it could actually bake that into the model somehow.

Don't laugh at me I'm new at this!
Zaphos
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2010, 08:51:08 PM »

Er, are you saying you concluded it was impossible?  How were you trying to do it?

IIRC some file formats (notably obj) do not support vertex colors so wings3d will just ignore the colors if you export to those.  But other file formats do (like ... wrl apparently) so it's a matter of (A) exporting with a format that supports vertex colors, (B) making sure you can import that format correctly and (C) making sure unity uses the vertex colors while rendering.  I don't use unity so I can't speak to B or C, but quickly googling about it seems like rendering with vertex colors in unity is possible, and I imagine it should be possible to write your own importer if needed.
nihilocrat
Level 10

Full of stars.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2010, 09:45:30 PM »