Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411727 Posts in 69402 Topics- by 58455 Members - Latest Member: Sergei

May 22, 2024, 10:22:04 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Special Effects
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Special Effects  (Read 4883 times)
TobiasW
Level 8

This can only end brilliantly!

View Profile WWW
« on: August 22, 2010, 01:20:56 PM »

Hello, everyone!

I am not a newbie when it comes to programming, but all these fancy graphical stuff is fairly new to me. I am always left in amazement when I see fancy Shoot'em ups, stuff like Geometry Wars, or Osmos for example - it's just beautiful, and I sadly don't even know how to make stuff glow.

So I guess the topics I should look into are shaders and particles? What about other effects, like dynamic light, lightning, fog, glowing and stuff I forgot to include here because I don't even know their names, what are they composed of?

What do you use? And can you recommend any tutorials? Books? Anything else I should read into or engage in to become better with this stuff?

Cheers,
Tobias

imaginationac
Level 2

Makin' games instead of makin' money.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2010, 03:09:22 PM »

Particle generation is fairly easy way to do "fancy graphical stuff" without having to get into shader programming.

Most particle systems I've seen and used have two major components: an emitter and a particle type. The emitter is the source where particles are generated. Particle type are definitions of how a individual particle behaves and looks.

In creating an emitter, you can define the rate at which particles are created, life-span of particles, directionality (omni, stream, etc.). In defining particle types, you can either use on the fly drawing methods (make it a square with a 1 directional ramp) or use sprites.