Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 27, 2024, 12:35:41 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Relation between game objects<->sprites, "is a" or "has a"?
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Relation between game objects<->sprites, "is a" or "has a"?  (Read 4762 times)
HannesP
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: January 07, 2009, 05:58:08 PM »

As I've mentioned in other threads, I'm new to game programming (though not to programming in general) and I have encountered a design issue: a typical game contains a lot of "game object" (the player, bullets, enemies, bosses) etc and the screen is (hopefully) filled with graphical representations of them, but what is the relation between the two? Is a game object in fact a sprite with custom behaviour, or should the "logical" part of an object be treated as a separate object which has a sprite that it uses to draw its visual representation on the screen?

In Cocoa, which is the environment in which I have done most of my programming, subclassing is generally avoided in favor of delegation, composition etc., but since this is a game, I suppose the premises are a bit different.

Probably there's no "right" or "wrong" way to do it, since the important thing is whether it works or not, so I just want to hear your thoughts on it and how you usually design your games in this regard (from a pragmatic point of view; rants about design patterns and about what D. Knuth would have done don't help me much Wink).
Problem Machine
Level 8

It's Not a Disaster

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2009, 06:04:39 PM »

I definitely wouldn't keep any bitmap data in your class, as that would make duplicate enemies remarkably inefficient.

HannesP
Level 0

View Profile WWW