Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411504 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 04:12:38 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsMystic Space- a space fantasy game demo (Pictures).
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Mystic Space- a space fantasy game demo (Pictures).  (Read 6574 times)
Rskennan
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: March 26, 2009, 07:35:44 AM »

Hello everyone, first post. Sorry if this post seems rushed, but I just pulled an all-nighter and am about to crash.

A fellow poster on a gaming board I frequent told me that I should check out this site. I thought I'd introduce myself with a post about my project. The art isn't as great as some of the stuff I've seen around here, but I just started learning 3d a few weeks back for this project. The important thing to me is that I'm doing as much as I can alone.

Like I said, I'm learning 3d for this project, but I'm also learning every other aspect of video game design from scratch as well. I've done pen and paper game design, and written a few books, so I think it's doable.

About the demo: It's called "Mystic Space" for now. Space itself is pretty much like it would be in a science fiction game, but the spaceships are powered by magic, and there are things like space temples and planets filled with magical creatures. Each world represents a different flavor of fantasy.

The demo itself will combine 3d twitch space combat with a land-based mission, all wrapped up with traditional (pen and paper-styled) RPG elements.

In the demo scenario, there are two playable cultures representing two sides of a conflict. The first culture is a Pseudo-Victorian Steampunk culture whose magic takes the form of mad science. This is the ship that will represent them: